The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   trout vs carp (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/323875-trout-vs-carp.html)

kicker19 07-01-2013 10:16 PM

trout vs carp

curious as to whether or not a growing population of carp would push out or decrease a trout population. i went to my usual trout river and all day i saw nothing but carp. also didnt catch anything. there was ALOT of carp and they were of decent to large size. have never seen them in this river before and ive been fishing it for three years. something i should be concerned about ?

Hardyreels 07-01-2013 11:07 PM

Re: trout vs carp

If there are abundant carp I suspect warm water temps. Which river are we talking about, I lived down in Newnan for nearly 2 years.

Ard

kicker19 07-02-2013 01:35 AM

the lower chattahoochee river several miles below morgan falls dam. i do believe you and i have had this coversation before in some other thread ha ha ha. unfortunately that river is the only actual trout river in this area, next closest is over an hour north, so i spend much time there. been trying to venture out but its a little tough

fly_guy12955 07-02-2013 05:01 AM

If it's grass carp I doubt you have much to worry about. If it's them jumpin' , flying Asian carp, you have plenty to worry about.

If the water is warm enough that the carp are really active, the trout have prob became fairly lethargic.

Mike

kicker19 07-02-2013 01:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fly_guy12955 (Post 568844)
If it's them jumpin' , flying Asian carp, you have plenty to worry about.

If the water is warm enough that the carp are really active, the trout have prob became fairly lethargic.

Mike