The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2013, 11:44 PM

zarick is on a distinguished road
Default A little help and info about casting

I am totally new to this sport, just got my first rod and reel.
I have been practicing out side and I think today I finally had an aha moment.
I stopped trying to hit a mark and started watching the way my line was acting (I did take a 2 hour lesson, but still didn't get it) and then I saw the wave and realized what I must do is make a wave travel the length of the line.
So after that the getting my line straight out in front of me seemed to start (got a long ways to go) coming together.
However, as this is my first pole (echo solo 6wt 9' Med-fast action) I am wondering about the tip. I note that I think I am throwing a little hard as the whole top 1/4 area bends back then flings forward. Sometimes I get a bit of a bounce, but I think with practice I can back off the bounce.
So my question is.. should I be working to keep the pole from bending on cast or is it suppose to bend on cast? Is a stiffer pole better?
Old 07-06-2013, 12:38 AM

JoJer is a splendid one to beholdJoJer is a splendid one to beholdJoJer is a splendid one to beholdJoJer is a splendid one to beholdJoJer is a splendid one to beholdJoJer is a splendid one to beholdJoJer is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: A little help and info about casting

The weight of the line on a cast causes the rod to bend. That springy bend is stored energy. On the final forward cast and release, the stored energy is transferred to the line making the line shoot out.