The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2008, 01:16 PM

MrEsox is a jewel in the roughMrEsox is a jewel in the roughMrEsox is a jewel in the rough
Default one wt over another

Hi all, this might sound like a noob question, but I dont consider myself a great flyman...though I've done it for a while, I still got a lot to learn. That is why I'm asking these following questions:

I was wondering if there realy is any differance between one wt. and another wt. right next to it? I've been fishing with a #4/#5 for a few years now and was wondering what the differance between 4wt and 5wt is (besides a factor of 1 number)? More over even 9-10wt or 1-2wt for that matter. So what can I expect if I change from a 5wt to a 4wt, any big changes in castability (forget wt. forward lines and such)? Or does it not matter much? I get that the wt. of a rod is an indicator of the strength and bend of the rod, so does the same hold true for the line?
Old 02-04-2008, 01:53 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: one wt over another

A 5wt rod will be a bit more powerful than a 4wt rod, on average. It should have more pulling power. The 5wt line will work a bit better than a 4wt line at turning over larger flies and weight. It will not present flies quite as delicately as the 4wt though.