The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2013, 10:53 PM

crohnie31 is on a distinguished road
Default Kayak Fishing

My wife and I are looking into buying kayaks since we rent them so often and camp quite a bit. I just wanted to get some opinions on what we should look at getting. Also, how in the heck do you fly fish from one? I'm new to fly fishing and still getting my technique down, but I just don't see how that's doable from the sitting position...

What is the best cradle from transporting to the water? Are there kayaks that are better to fish from? Any input you guys have is appreciated...
Old 07-17-2013, 11:38 PM

kicker19 will become famous soon enoughkicker19 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Kayak Fishing

I think what you might be looking for is a sit on top kayake. They have litte bit wider midsection then lets say a river kayake, giving the paddler a little more room to move, it also doesn't require you to climb into it (hence the name). I have some friends that have rigged theirs with rod holders, fish finders, beer holders, etc.
as far as fishing from them, your not going to be able to cast as effectively as you would wading, casting will be with all upper body or arm, but you can paddle yourself into a better position, problem solved.
On a side note, consider getting a small anchor ( they make some that are 5lbs), they come in handy when your wanting to fish a spot for a little. It is quite difficult to row and cast at the same time !
mcnerney likes this.
Old 07-17-2013, 11:49 PM