The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By fq13
  • 2 Post By oarfish
  • 1 Post By silver creek
  • 1 Post By pv7804

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2013, 04:03 PM

pv7804 is on a distinguished road
Question Noob: Need help...(Leader & Tippets)

Hi Guys,

I bought a Granger "Victory" 8642 in good condition along with a Pflueger Medalist. I'm siked and want to fish ASAP...

I'm new to fly fishing and I need advice and maybe a few suggestions on the following
:

The Pflueger I bought was used and came w/ backing and a 5wt. fly line on it already. I want to purchase a Cortland Sylk 5wt. line for the bamboo stick.

Can I reuse old backing that came on the Pflueger Medalist 1494 DA and tie that to the new fly line (Cortland sylk)? Or do I need to get new backing? If so, what brand/what kind???

I also don't know what leader(s) to get? I was thinking these, but I'm not really sure. Is it a good idea to get both or will one do? HELP?.?.
RIO Fluoroflex Trout Leaders 9ft 4X and RIO Powerflex 7.5ft. 5 X Leader

Lastly, tippets? I was thinking these would be suffice.
RIO Fluoroflex Plus Tippet Spools - 30 yds. Sizes 4X, 5X, 6X
RIO Powerflex Tippet Spools – 30 yds. Sizes 4X, 5X, 6X

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks in Advance...
Pete
Old 08-07-2013, 04:12 PM

Noiso is just really niceNoiso is just really niceNoiso is just really niceNoiso is just really niceNoiso is just really nice
Default Re: Noob: Need help...(Leader & Tippets)

backing on a 5wt is just backing. If a fish takes you into your backing on a 5wt, god help you. I'd imagine if the old backing is solid it doesn't matter. On the other hand, backing is quite reasonably priced.
I'd say don't spend too much time worrying about it.