The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2013, 10:46 PM

cc268 is infamous around these parts
Default Flyfishing for Beginner?

Alright so I am currently a college student in Flagstaff, AZ. I have a lot of experience fishing with spinning reels and baitcasters for bass, pike, trout, crappie, catfish, walleye, etc...
Bass, pike, and catfish being my main focus. I learned to fish with a spinning rod and fished for trout down in Sedona with a spinning setup.

I recently got interested in fly fishing and have been watching videos and doing some research. I don't know when I will be purchasing any fly fishing stuff as I don't have much to spend at the moment, but would like to do my research and get some opinions.

I would probably go to Bass Pro to get help picking specific gear out as they have a specific fly fishing area. However for now I would like to establish a list of gear I would need to start. So far I would think:

- Reel
- Rod
- Backing, leader, tapered leader
- Flies

Keep in mind I may have a lot of the other things from my other fishing tackle.
What else do I need?
Old 08-09-2013, 11:04 PM

navezgane will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Flyfishing for Beginner?