The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2008, 11:11 AM

FlyDog is on a distinguished road
Default Adding tippet to leader

Morning All...
I'm new with all this so bare with me. I know there is tippet on the leader but am wondering if you add tippet material to a unused leader or do you wait till you've taken the tippet on the leader down some before before tying on additional tippet material?
Thanks..
Old 02-08-2008, 11:24 AM

FoulHooked is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Adding tippet to leader

It's up to you and depends on what you start with as far as leader and tippet and what length and final diameter you want to end with. I generally wait for a 9' leader to get down around 7-7.5' before tying on (when using tapered knotless leaders). For most situations that I fish (stream and small river), it works pretty well for me.

Tippet length will also impact casting/turnover/presentation. Do whatever you're comfortable with and keep it simple to start, then experiment as you go. Keep in mind there are other leader options you may want to check out for some situations down the road. eg. I prefer using furled leaders (5.5' tapered furled leader with 3-5' level tippet) for small stream dry fly fishing.
Old 02-08-2008, 11:47 AM

Thanks for the reply,
I understand what a tapered, knotless leader is but not sure what a furled leader is. Could you explain?
Thanks...
Old 02-08-2008, 01:13 PM
Super Moderator