The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree29Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2013, 02:59 PM

skrap is on a distinguished road
Default Fly selection for nOOb......

Ok, some of you know I'm new to FF and that my 10 year old son and I are diving head first into this new hobby. We don't tie our own flies and not sure if I ever will (still need to start my reloading first). We will be buying our flies for the forseeable future. I want my son to be active when picking out his gear to make it more fun for him as well.

We live in SoCal and will be fishing in the Sierras and Rockies. Sme fishing in local ponds and lakes that hold bass and bluegill too. I have a very basic grasp on works for trout but would like a little more detail on specifics.

Several questions:

1. Where is a reasonable place to by flies. My local shop has lots to choose from with prices around $1.90 each. Is this price good or a bit high. They tie their own flies in house.

2. What size hooks for my fishing locations? For dry and nymphs? Is variety in size the best option?

3. Saw places like BPS that have many of the "standard" flies like Adams, Elk Hares, Pheasant Tails, etc, for $13 for a dozen. Just over a buck a fly on flies that I may use often. Almost seems hard to pass up.

As much info as you are willing to give would be very helpful. I don't mind spending a little more to get a good core base of flies all at one time to start building our inventory.

Also, if any of you that tie flies and sell them I'd buy from you too.

Thanks in advance.
Old 08-26-2013, 03:04 PM