The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2013, 07:02 PM

ia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to behold
Default How to choose a fly reel and line for small trout streams?

I'm new to this game. Been to a few local streams and my St Croix Reign 5WT 9FT is going to be too big most of the time, so I just ordered a Redington 3WT 7'-6" CT flyrod today. At times the truth of the matter is what I am doing is a lot like bass fishin with a one of my baitcasting rigs lol. Castin round the boulder, under the tree branch etc. Sidearm casts and a little roll casting off the stream. A real backcast will be a rare thing for this new setup. I am catching small native Browns and stocked Rainbows (and getting addicted). The trips to more traditional water with larger fish will come later and be infrequent. I guess I can optimize my 5WT for that day.

Your reel and flyline recommendations for the 3WT small stream fishing are invited. My guess is there won't actually be fish "on the reel" much, but want the drag to be there reliably when I occasionally need it a few times a year. I need a line that has decent durability, as I expect it will be rubbing obstacles on every trip. It doesn't need to have extraordinary long casting capability. As far as budget, I will pay what I truly need to pay.

thanks, Dewayne
Old 09-10-2013, 07:16 PM