The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree28Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2013, 08:52 PM

two_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of light
Default who dead drifts streamers?

Just curious who here will dead drifts streamers along the bottom. I fish a river where leeches are very prevalent, and I think dead drifting a leech along the bottom, with a stonefly drop would be very effective. Do I need to do anything different than I would fishing a nymph rig? do you usually swing it back at the end of the drift? I have never done this before, but would like to start trying it.

---------- Post added at 09:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:45 PM ----------

More specifically, thinking about flies like a simi seal leech and egg sucking leech, among others that have a lot of movement.
Old 11-22-2013, 09:32 PM

itchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to beholditchmesir is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: who dead drifts streamers?

Dead drifting streamers is common... Whenever I do it... I'll make most of each cast... Drift... Let it swing past me and strip it back before casting back upstream... Cover a lot of water this way...
mcnerney, Sep, jaybo41 and 2 others like this.
Old 11-22-2013, 09:43 PM