who dead drifts streamers?

two_nymph_rig

Reaction score
Just curious who here will dead drifts streamers along the bottom. I fish a river where leeches are very prevalent, and I think dead drifting a leech along the bottom, with a stonefly drop would be very effective. Do I need to do anything different than I would fishing a nymph rig? do you usually swing it back at the end of the drift? I have never done this before, but would like to start trying it.

---------- Post added at 09:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:45 PM ----------

More specifically, thinking about flies like a simi seal leech and egg sucking leech, among others that have a lot of movement.

itchmesir

Reaction score
Dead drifting streamers is common... Whenever I do it... I'll make most of each cast... Drift... Let it swing past me and strip it back before casting back upstream... Cover a lot of water this way...

jbird

Reaction score
Ive caught MONSTER winter steelhead with small egg sucking leeches under an indicator. Fish it just like you described

itchmesir

Reaction score
I personally wouldn't use an indicator... Just because on the strip back is be splashing water... And all my leech patterns are weighted

jaybo41

Reaction score
i fish mine just as these guys have mentioned, including the simi seal leeches. Swing it, drift it, twitch it, strip it. I'll add weight if I need to, it all depends on where i'm fishing--current, depth, where the fish are hanging out. When I fish simi seal leeches, they're beaded with tungsten and or brass with a few wraps of wire for weight.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
I've been tying then (streamers) since my very first attempt at making a fly and trying to catch fish with them for the same length of time. What all that time has done is to allow me to actually know an answer to some questions. Remember, I said 'an answer' not, the answer :D