The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2014, 01:58 PM

tex is on a distinguished road
Default Fishing High Mountain Lakes

I am relatively new to the fly fishing scene, I was a bait chucker for many years before that. I seem to have the river/stream thing down, at least I have it down in theory. I can typically find fish in moving water but I am stuck finding anything in lakes and ponds.

I live in the Sacramento area, less than an hour from the Sierras and I spend quite a few weekends during the spring and summer high up in the mountains enjoying Gods country. I would love to bring my rods and catch some beautiful mountain trout but I don't even know where to begin.

I assume the choice of flies is relatively the same, trout eat the same things. But presentation has to be different because there is very little water movement.

I can understand streamers and nymphs, use them to imitate what is really living in the lakes, but dry flies are my real question. After I cast out, how long do I let them float before casting out again? Do I try to create a little movement by ever so slowly stripping in line or should I just let them rest?

When using sub-surface flies, should I nymph along the bottom or do streamers/something that looks like it is swimming work better? I would imagine that the trout are scouring the bottom of the lake for food but you can't really cover water well if you're retrieving flies at nymph crawling speed.

What do you guys typically use for trout fishing in smaller mountain lakes? Please help a newbie out!

Thanks
Old 01-16-2014, 04:18 PM

Mnflyfish is a jewel in the roughMnflyfish is a jewel in the roughMnflyfish is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Fishing High Mountain Lakes