The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree17Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2014, 11:37 AM

shields08 is on a distinguished road
Default Questions From a Beginner

I have a trip planned for 3 days to fish the tail waters of the Toccoa river in mid August.
I will be fly fishing, but I am a beginner. I have not even purchased a rod or reel. I have however done tons of research on the area, fly fishing equipment, and techniques. So I understand the basics but thats about it.
Having been a tournament bass angler for a few years now, I understand how serious this sport is and how important it is to have the right equipment for the task at hand.
That being said, I am trying to decide what size Rod & reel, fly line, leader, tippet, and lure to use on my trip.
I don't plan to fly fish much, maybe one trip a year. I will probably target different areas each year with LARGER than average trout. Example: I hear that 16"-20" trout on the Toccoa are very common. With that in mind I will just let you all know what kind of setup I had in mind, and you all can tell me what you would change.
I was thinking for these large trout, a 5-6wt rod at 8'6"-9'. 5-6wt fly line, 3wt tapered leader, 3-4 wt tippet, and 12-16 flies? I originally thought I would use the Orvis Encounter 5wt combo, but I went to Bass Pro and picked up a few 5wt rods and they seem a little thin for such big fish. But I also don't have any experience with fly fishing so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 02-18-2014, 12:19 PM

diamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to all
Default Re: Questions From a Beginner