The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2014, 08:50 PM

870expressmag is on a distinguished road
Default New to fly-fishing

I am new to fly fishing, been a regular fisherman my whole life(32yr old). A few years back my brother and I got invited on a trout fishing trip, on the opening weekend of trout season for stocked browns and rainbows. It was a lot of fun, but after a few years of all the drunks that never even make it out of the cabin to the river, and the elbow to elbow crowds all lined up along the dams edge dropping corn over the edge, i've decided this "city boy" fishing is not quite my style. We always used spinning gear. I have an extreme interest in fly fishing, a former friend who fly fished a lot got me kinda on track to get started, i bought a used rod and reel from a local classifieds, i had no idea what i was buying but i got it for 35.00. The former friend gave me a few 5x leaders, some I believe DT line, not sure of weight, maybe 6 or 7, and he actually gave me another rod and reel. Well i am looking at trying to take a casting class, my local cabelas offers them for free, but i was wondering if the rods i have, are any good, and will help me learn, or inhibit me from learning. From spinning gear fishing i knew how important at least decent equipment is. The rod and reel i bought for 35.00 is a Garcia Conolon 2 star 6&7wt 2637-A with a South bend 1122 reel on it, and the one that the former friend gave me is a South bend trophy tamer 8.5ft 6-7wt T-685 rod with what looks like the cursive initials "PS" on the reel. I believe that has 7 DT line on it. Around where i live i have lots of opportunity for bass, bluegill, pike, etc. Between extended family and in-laws i have access to some g