The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree62Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2014, 11:07 AM

zildjian is on a distinguished road
Default what are the first flies to buy?

hey guys,

I'm brand new to fly fishing and super excited to get into the sport to catch stocked and wild trout. I bought a sage 5 weight rod and reel. Also have 5 weight line with 4x tapered leader with various tippet material from 4x, 5x and 6x.

I started practicing casting out back with a trimmed piece of egg yarn material. I just started dialing in my accuracy very well now. Before I hit the water what flies do you guys recommend I start out with on the water? Dry, nymphs, streamers or midges? I understand each size of fly is paired with (x) tippet. I'm just not sure on what style of fly to start out with and then which specific fly. I fish out of Bucks and Montgomery County of Pennsylvania.

I appreciate any help,
thank you.
-nick
mcnerney, mridenour and rott21 like this.
Old 04-18-2014, 11:50 AM
mridenour

Default Re: what are the first flies to buy?

Nick,
This is what I would recommend. Go to this thread:
Bigger & Better... "The Fly Box 90!"

PM Jerry and tell him where you are fishing and what you will be fishing for. Tell him you need some advice. This is THE BEST way to get a huge selection of proven flies without breaking the bank. They are quality and you will be helping out in a great cause. Everybody wins.

I guarantee that if you get one of these boxes full of great flies, when you get that thing out in front of an old-timer, he will think you are a seasoned veteran of the sport. There's no way to get a better start.
Old 04-18-2014, 12:17 PM