The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree24Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2014, 06:10 PM

nevessl is on a distinguished road
Default How to best prepare?

Hi all,

So, I'm new to the forum... but a little background on me. I tried to fly fish self-taught when I was around 13. I loved it, but more the thought of it than anything. I only caught a handful of fish and at least one of those was on accident. I also had a friend whose dad had a fly tying kit he let us use... holy ****, that was fun... I still have those flies and have caught fish on them as recently as last summer (although it was panfish).

Anyway, I am now wanting to get back into it, but I would really like to dig into it. More than anything, like everyone else, I want to catch fish. Having said that, when I don't, I tend to lose interest fairly quickly. So my thought process is to learn as much as I can to have the greatest chance of success and the least chance of boredom.

I have been fishing my entire life, but I guess one of my biggest problems is not knowing what I don't know. I'm not sure what I need to know to successfully catch trout.

Having said that, I'm planning on focusing on trout, but I'll probably also go after some panfish and maybe small bass in a nearby creek. There are also a lot of spotted gar in that creek.

Anyway, what would you guys recommend? My first thoughts are to read some books. I think I've got an Orvis book on Fly Fishing I bought about a year ago. Any good book suggestions? I'm also thinking about joining the local fly fishing club... those generally tend to be great sources of information (to be fair, I'm biased... I'm president of a local club for a different hobby myself ) and also a local fly shop.