The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2008, 11:16 PM

FlyRichardFly will become famous soon enoughFlyRichardFly will become famous soon enough
Default Getting ready for the 08' season!

All this talk about "quality" in fly stuff. I posted about how the super lite rods are the way to go. Well they are, but last night I checked all my flyrods and I have lots of cheapos with the exception of the only "semi-expensive" "high end" rod I own. Last year I purchased a 9' 5wt Sage Fli for $255! And I must say that I caught quite a few trout and smallmouth and fallfish on this wonderful lite rod.

But I only have cheap reels....... and old cheap line..... and I've been tying for five years and I still use a $15 vise! LOL

I changed all this a couple mins ago. Cabelas has a $4.95 ship charge for any amount, so I did some internet shopping! I hate to shop. Must have been the 22 years I was married following my EX around while she spent all my money on her hundred pair of shoes and her five hundred dresses. We had a big closet....... 98% was her stuff........ I only had two suits and two pair of jeans, one pair leather shoes and one pair of sneakers! She had hundreds of outfits, maybe a thousand!

Anyway....... tonight I just ordered a SLA reel (it won the best of the best in Field and Stream) and some Sharkskin line. Pricey, but it's the best. And I ordered a rotary vice. The Renzetti was on back order, so I got the Peak Rotary Vise. Both look wonderful and the Peak was a couple dollars cheaper. I also got lots of fly tying stuff. That's what I like to do late at night, very relaxing, so I finally upgraded to the latest stuff.