The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2008, 04:26 PM

coolcheech is on a distinguished road
Default Line getting snagged

Hello, 1) I'm new to trout fishing and 2) I'm not a fly fisherman (yet).

I just started fishing in June of last year (a little late) in the Catskills, New York. I bought myself some ultra-light spinning gear to get myself started and I do enjoy it.
However, I didn't catch anything last year but what annoys me more is the amount of lures I'm losing. The streams in the Catskills have pretty rocky bottoms and my lures always get snagged. A lot of times I have to cut them and I can imagine it becoming a little costly.
I mostly use the little "Blue Fox" vibrax-spinners, but also some others with felt and feathers. Sometimes I'll run a small length of line above the lure and put a BB-sized sinker on it hoping the lure will float above it, but they still get snagged. The water is pretty shallow so I'll try and cast into a pool and let the current take it over the riffles; or if there is no pool I'll even put a floater on the line so the lure doesn't go to deep. Anyway nothing is working and with the season coming up around the corner I'd like to be prepared this year.

Thanks in advance for the help,
Christian

I was also curious to know if I can use flys on a spinning set-up, or will that get me crucified at the stream?
Old 03-17-2008, 04:58 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future