The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree118Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2015, 03:51 AM

area57 is on a distinguished road
Default where are the most famous place to fly fish?

As I am a beginner, I need to start dreaming of my first trip. So where are the most famous places to fly fish in the US or Canada? I think Alaska is a given.

I will accept for an answer as specific or regional as you so choose. For example you could say the Yellowstone River for the 10 mile stretch between "town a" and "town b", central Montana, or Montana. Whatever you choose.

Off the top of my head the places that I think of as fly hotspots are:

Montana and the Yellowstone corner of,Idaho and Wyoming.

Colorado

Central Utah

Columbia River tributaries

And British Columbia

Oh, maybe upstate New York, but I don't know that much about it and can't imagine it possibly isn't overfished to death.
Old 04-05-2015, 05:30 AM

hairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant futurehairwing530 has a brilliant future
Default Re: where are the most famous place to fly fish?

Hey area57,

It's never too early to start dreaming about/planning for "the trip," places that take high priority on your bucket list, so to speak. Always aspire to visit new places and fish new waters when you can, as the gifts such places freely give a fly-fisherman are many.