The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2008, 11:54 PM

FlyRichardFly will become famous soon enoughFlyRichardFly will become famous soon enough
Default Peak Rotary Vise

Click the image to open in full size.

What a wonderful vise this is! I've been tying for 5 years and I always used a $15 piece of ****. I finally had the courage to buy a nice vise. $149, but I'm sure it will last me a long time.

I'm not a expert tier by any means, and I used to lose my mind and throw the crappy fly in the trash....... then I would go to Cabelas and buy some. LOL

With a rotary vise I can turn the fly any place I want it. And the jaws never drop the fly on the desk!

Tonight I tied some "white drakes" my own creation. I even made some burnt mono eyes..... for the first time. I used a 1/4" piece of 25lb flourocarbon leader (my saltwater stuff) and held it in my hackle plyers and put it next to a candle. In a micro second it melts and forms a round eye on each side. Then I used a magic marker. Tiny eyes on a dry fly makes the fly look real.

So relaxing and so much fun. I love to tie flies.

Seven days until trout season opens, Fish On longrodders,
Rick
Old 03-22-2008, 07:26 AM

FrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Peak Rotary Vise

My first tying efforts were made 30+ years ago, and the vise was something