Guiding info

gzarboni

Reaction score
Hello all.
Looking for a little advice from those of you that guide. First a little background. I have been fishing for over 40 years. 8 years ago I remarried and moved to the adirondack mountains in NY. I saw some guys fly fishing and wanted to try it out. I am now a very obsessed fly fisher and Tyer. I have been thinking about becoming a guide for about 2 years now. I have studied the rivers and walked many many miles. I finally took my guides test and now I am a licensed NY State guide.
I was wondering what the guides do to prepare for the season? I will be shadowing a guide this season to learn the ropes but I wanted to get a lot of different opinions.
I have been getting into shape, I go and check water levels and study the weather. My flies and gear are all ready to go. April 1st can't come soon enough. So if anybody has some advice I would appreciate it. Thanks
Glen

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

fredaevans

Reaction score
White City (tad north of Medford) Oar-E-Gone
Talk to a good attorney about liability and insurance recommendations.
SOOO YES-YES-YES! :wavetowel The other thing is advanced Red Cross training. Lot of years but have had to tend to two fellows on the beach that just collaped; dragging a full grown man out of water is a hell of a lot harder than you think.

The 'life saver' was I still had a cell phone connection, it took just minutes for the EMT's racing across the beach! Bless the EMT's, I've had to call them twice for me... I was the one laying on the floor with the Dog next to me. Bottom line of this is ALWAYS HAVE YOUR CELL PHONE IN YOUR POCKET!

fae

1move

Reaction score
SOOO YES-YES-YES! :wavetowel The other thing is advanced Red Cross training. Lot of years but have had to tend to two fellows on the beach that just collaped; dragging a full grown man out of water is a hell of a lot harder than you think.