A Griz human encounter that went bad....

huntschool

Reaction score
I almost hesitate to post this but.....

As I am sure many of us here have heard of the fatal Grizzly incident outside of Glacier NP.

I am starting to wonder about the validity of the re-introductions of top tier predators into space where they and humans must coexist. Given that they(predators) were extirpated from said habitats at least in part due to their danger to humans and livestock. Many folks just love the re-intro of the wolves.... have they ever seen a pack hunt and take prey tearing flesh off while the animal is still quite alive and bawling. I would propose they have not, not a sight for the faint of heart. As to the big bears, they are what they are all the way back to early research by the brothers Craighead who commented they were the most unpredictable animal in the world......

Before you start shooting at me understand that I am a trained biologist/wildlife guy and proud of it. I am, to some extent really on the fence here. I like being able to fish without needing to carry a Mod 29 with Buffalo Bore rds in it or better yet add a 12 ga shotgun and 00 buck to my on stream kit..... Been there done that. I was real "flinchy"

What do you all think about these animals being in close proximity to humans and realizing that the grizzly knows he is the top of the food chain and lets not make it way political or the admin folks will shut it down....

Just some discussion..... How about you guys and gals that fish out there in the Yellowstone and Glacier Eco systems........

Vulpes

Reaction score