The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   Reels (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/3720-reels.html)

FISHN50 03-30-2008 08:33 PM

Reels

A recent poll asked how many rods everyone has & I was wondering how many reels you all have & are they matched to a rod or how many reels / rod do you have. I was just going thru my stuff & realized I have 18 flyrods of different wts. & 8 flyreels in working order. thats about 2 to 1.... Is that an average ratio?

Davo 03-30-2008 08:40 PM

Re: Reels

I have six rod and six reels. All ready to go on a moments notice!! LOL.

tmart24 03-30-2008 09:49 PM

I am fairly new to the sport, but I fish in several different places in different scenarios. I have 4 rods: two 4 wt's, a 6 wt, and a 9 wt. As for reels, I have 5 loaded with 4wt floating, 4 wt sinking, 5 wt, 6 wt, and 9 wt. The 5 wt is so I can overload my 4wt if need be. The next think I want is a 7 foot 2wt.

Frank Whiton 03-31-2008 09:36 AM

Hi FISHN50,

I am a big believer in buying very good reels with good drags and multiple spools. For fresh water and occasional saltwater fishing a reel that handles 4-5-6 weight lines and a second reel that handles 7-8-9 weight lines will do a pretty good job for Trout, warm water, Steelhead, Salmon, Stripers and flats saltwater. If you are someone who has to have a 3wt and below rods then a light weight reel for these rods would be needed. You can stretch the use of the 4-5-6/7-8-9 reels by using Gel Spun backing. With these two reel sizes you can fish a wide range of rods and lines using additional spools.

This doesn't work with a guide as he needs a reel on every rod. A die-hard Salt water fisher will want to have more than one rod set up and ready to go. For the rest of us these two reel sizes will work quite well for a large range of fishing.