flyfishing with bats

flymoron

Reaction score
I live in central arkansas, and we don't have very many bats in this area, but last night right at dusk there were a few flying around the pond that I was fishing at. I have never had this happen before, I assumed they were attracted to my nymph flying through the air. Is this a common occurence for any of you?

flymoron

raindogt

Reaction score
'Co-habitating' with bats is a common occurrence around here while fishing. The bats will hang out near a water source to feed on the buffet of critters around the habitat. (I'm no bat expert, but I believe the insect life is probably one of the biggest draws for them.) We even have a few that fly around the neighborhood because of back yard pools....

Generally speaking, they will be harmless-- I, as well as others on the board have actually caught a bat while fishing. -- (mine was more of a 'snag' the bat-- as my fly tying isn't that convincing.... LOL)

Anyhow, one word of caution-- They are not the cleanest animals-- if you do have an encounter, even if not bit by the bat-- (just contact with the bat is enough...), Get yourself to the doc and take all of the precautionary steps. I hear rabies is a terrible affliction... Take this last part very seriously: ANY contact with a bat needs to be addressed.

wjc

Reaction score
Yes, but only to where I could step on my leader and pop it off. I'd have snapped it off in the air, but I was using my Leonard Bamboo and didn't want to risk the tip.

At that time, the rabies series after being bitten, was at least a dozen sub cutaneous injections in the stomach - I forget the exact number . I had previously administered them several times in SE Asia while an SF Medic there and knew firsthand how excruciatingly painful they were.

I take no chances with animals possibly carrying it. It is 100% fatal if shots are not administered in time.

Cheers,
Jim

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score