The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2010, 03:34 PM

jamieof has a spectacular aura aboutjamieof has a spectacular aura aboutjamieof has a spectacular aura about
Default Strike Indicator Affecting casting Distance by ~ 25%

Is this normal?

Take into account I'm still a beginner and feel great when I lay the fly into an imaginary 24" circle 40 ft away from me.

With one of those "foam butterfly shape" pinch-on Indicators, I'm lucky to get it out 30'. Add any amount of wind at all, and treats the line like I have no idea what I'm doing and the fly could end up anywhere within a 12' radius.

I'm fishing still water, 4-6 ft deep with the Indicator 4ft from the fly.

Thanks in advance for any help or tips.

Jamie.
Old 08-17-2010, 04:30 PM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Strike Indicator Affecting casting Distance by ~ 25%