The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2008, 01:04 PM

geist262 is on a distinguished road
Default Rookie gear advice

Hi guys, I am new to fly fishing and I was wondering what type of setup to get. I plan on fishing for trout in rivers. I live in northeastern pa. I will probably practice catching some panfish before I try for trout. I figure a 5wt rod would be good, but I don't know what type(brand to buy) The only shop near me can hook me up with a 9ft 5wt orvis clearwater 2 and battenkill reel for $220.00. They only carry orvis, nothing else. I plan on spending around 200 ish or so. I did pick up the ll bean ultimate fly fishing book. Also, what action do I need? Any input would be great. Thanks!
Old 04-17-2008, 02:10 PM

FrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Rookie gear advice

That sounds like a good package. Get a medium action rod: 7.5 in Orvis
terms. A quality line is very important as well....REAL IMPORTANT. Cortland
444, SA Mastery Trout, and Rio Classic are all fine. Cortland would be the
least expensive.
Old 04-18-2008, 12:03 PM
Administrator