The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2008, 10:34 PM

jbu311 is on a distinguished road
Default How to fish a dry fly (beginner's question)

Hi all,

I'm new to fly fishing. After I've cast a dry fly, am I supposed to just let it float downstream without reeling in, except for maybe twitching the fly? Is there ever a case where I'd want to reel it in?

How about nymphs and streamers? Do I reel those in? If so, what type of retrieve?

Thanks in advance,
jbu
Old 05-12-2008, 12:30 AM
Super Moderator

fyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to fish a dry fly (beginner's question)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbu311 View Post
Hi all,

I'm new to fly fishing. After I've cast a dry fly, am I supposed to just let it float downstream without reeling in, except for maybe twitching the fly? Is there ever a case where I'd want to reel it in?

How about nymphs and streamers? Do I reel those in? If so, what type of retrieve?

Thanks in advance,
jbu

Hi jbu,
Normally when fishing 'Dries' you want to let them drift downstream with a 'dragfree float' with no movement, but as you mentioned there are times when you do want to 'twitch' the fly(usually a bigger bug that is trying to regain flight or get to the bank).