The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

View Poll Results: Best Bang-for-Buck Combo
White River Fly Shop 2 8.33%
3M Scientific Anglers 2 8.33%
Temple Fork Outiftters 13 54.17%
Cabelas Three Forks 4 16.67%
Redington 3 12.50%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2008, 05:55 PM

pneumatic is on a distinguished road
Default Best Bang-for-Buck Fly Combo Gear

I'm new to fly fishing and was about to go purchase a nice "intermediate" package to get myself started. But after casting various packages, I'm quite impressed by the "low end" equipment and this helps out my situation of having quite the gamut of fishing (Michigan) and limited resources.

So my new plan is to grab a couple of the value "combo" packages in a couple different sizes (probably a 4wt and an 8wt) and use them for a couple of years (or indefinitely, if the extra performance of the more expensive gear never becomes apparent - I digress...).

I'm just trying to gauge opinion on such packages.
Old 05-19-2008, 09:09 AM

bonefish41 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Best Bang-for-Buck Fly Combo Gear

IMO none of the above ...go used...demo... ebay... st croix ...scott...sage...orvis...loomis...reels same teton...good line is a must
Old 05-19-2008, 10:37 AM

fishin' fool is on a distinguished road

My vote goes to Redington. I can say firsthand, that their customer service is excellent, and I've found their porducts to be quality. In particular, I really like their line of CPS rods and the RS4 series aren't too shabby either.
Old 05-19-2008, 11:09 AM
Administrator