The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2008, 11:47 AM

eaglesfn68 is on a distinguished road
Default flies

hello, im new to fly fishing and want to learn more about the different types of flies, when to use them, how to fish them, exc. I cant seem to find a website or anything about flies. anybody have a website or flies i would appreciate it. thanks.

jason
Old 06-23-2008, 12:00 PM

BlueDun has a spectacular aura aboutBlueDun has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: flies

There are several people on this forum who know of some great web-based resources and I am sure one of them will respond. In addition, since there are so many different types of flies, you might have more luck if you looked at flies based on the type of fish and geographic area you plan to fish. For example, your choices would be different if you were targeting brookies vs. big brown trout vs. smallmouth vs carp. So, if you wanted to target brook trout and did not know what flies to use, search for websites on fly fishing for brook trout. You will probably see information about what types of flies to use and how to use them.
Old 06-23-2008, 12:13 PM

BlueDun has a spectacular aura aboutBlueDun has a spectacular aura about

Thought of another way to find info on flies after I clicked "submit" on the last post. You could also look for resources on different categories or methods of fly fishing. For example, the books I have on streamer fishing and nymph fishing discuss appropriate flies for those methods and how to use them.

Examples:
Nymph-Fishing Rivers And Streams by Rick Hafele
Streamer Fishing for Trophy Trout by Kelly Galloup