The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2008, 12:31 PM

Glen M is on a distinguished road
Default What Reel and Line?

I've been lurking on this forum for a few weeks now and find it a great site. I have been throwing iron for years and a couple of months ago got out an old fly outfit that a friend gave me. I got so I could get a fairly accurate 30ft cast and took it with me on my last Sierra trip. Bad idea. A half dozen planted rainbows later I'm hooked. I am on a strict budget so price is important. I decided that I needed a decent rod so I picked up a Sage Launch 9' 5wt on sale at Bob Martins for $100. Now I need to find a suitable reel and line. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Old 07-20-2008, 01:40 PM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton
Default Re: What Reel and Line?

Hi Glen,

Welcome to the forum. Glad you decided to post. Look over this FAQ post and see if any of those recommendations hits your fancy. There is a whole range of reel prices. It would help to know your top price limit.

Frank
Old 07-20-2008, 02:07 PM

Thanks Frank,