The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2008, 12:05 AM

huntnfish37 is on a distinguished road
Default need advice for Minnesota and U.P. of Michigan

Hey everyone. Just found this forum today. I've been a fisherman all my life, but I'm new to fly fishing. I went out for the first time this week and caught some sunnies and bass. I'm wondering about some good trout spots in Minnesota(Duluth area) and Michigan(Ironwood,Wakefield area). Anything in the general area would work too(Minn.,Wisc.,Mich.). From what I hear, you really have to go with the hatch and what's natural for flies. Any tips on bait and location selection will be much appreciated. I've fished a little with spinning rod over the years on the Big Presque Isle and a just a little this spring at the mouth of the French and Lester.
Old 08-07-2008, 11:56 AM

basher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: need advice for Minnesota and U.P. of Michigan

go to the dnr website they have detailed maps of trout streams that you can print off. the maps also say what fish are in the streams off to the top right of the map. they do have some suggestions also for flies. have fun
Old 08-07-2008, 01:01 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute

Huntnfish-