The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2008, 07:49 AM

gvillevol is on a distinguished road
Default Coloring Hooks

So I have been fishing for 21+ years and thought of something while waiting to see a customer yesterday.

I do a lot of flats fishing and a ton of off shore fishing as well. When I rig ballyhoo we always color the exposed part of the hook with either black or blue Sharpie markers. It absolutely makes a difference with pelagic fish. I also see a lot of live bait fisherman and bass/catfish fisherman using red hooks.

Then I thought???? I wonder if this would make any difference with hook ups with trout. What would coloring the exposed part of the hook with a blue or black (or other color) Sharpie? I carry some of the small Sharpie's in my pack on the river to doctor flies sometimes.

My question is has anyone tried this before, heard of someone trying it, or seen an article on it? I know of guys that have done it with salmon and like I said saltwater species on the flats and in blue water. Let me know what your experience is or what you have heard.

Like I said it may be a dumb question but I was really just curious as to what other posters think since I value your opinions and thoughts. Thanks for the responses .
Old 08-28-2008, 07:26 AM
Administrator

Fish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to Fish Bones
Default Re: Coloring Hooks

Yes... I have tried red hooks for fly fishing.