The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2008, 11:42 AM

stobey is on a distinguished road
Default What hits the water first?

I was taught that my line should land on the water and then unfurl with the leader and fly unfurling softly onto the water last. I have learned how to do this and it sure looks nice and I am catching fish, but I just read that the fly should be the first thing to land on the water!

I am new at this and am a bit confused. I use mostly wet flys and streamers.

Thanks

Steve
Old 08-31-2008, 01:22 PM

OldMan will become famous soon enoughOldMan will become famous soon enough
Default Re: What hits the water first?

It's more important with dry flies to have a soft presentation. Not as important with wet flies, and a lot of times if you slap a streamer on the water you get better results.

For myself, the dry fly lands last.
Old 08-31-2008, 02:16 PM

Bob Lang will become famous soon enoughBob Lang will become famous soon enough

Regardless of what I use, dry fly, nymph, bass bug, etc, the fly lands last. I'd hate to think what I'd need to do to get the fly to land first. I guess I could lower it over a bridge and get the fly to hit water first that way.

Kamin's Third Law - Combined total taxation from all levels of Government will always increase until the Government is replaced by war or revolution.
Old 08-31-2008, 09:35 PM
Super Moderator