The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2008, 09:29 AM

txbevo has a spectacular aura abouttxbevo has a spectacular aura about
Default Guidelines for matching rods, lines, leaders, tippets and flies

I have some general questions regarding matching rod weight, line weight, leaders, tippets and flies. On my way back from a trip yesterday I stopped at a small lake late in the afternoon and decided to wet a line. I had my 4 wt and 6 wt in the car and I decided to pull out the 4 wt as I thought my chances were mostly going to be for sunfish. Turns out the only flies I had with me were size 10 through 6. I put on a conehead woolly bugger and could not cast it to save my life. I am new to all of this so this was my first experience trying to throw a bigger fly with a smaller rod. I'm sure my newbie casting skills played a large part in my demise, but it was catastrophic. I got such a tangled mess on my leader with the light waning that i had to just cut if off. Anyway when I got home I did some reading and found some things that talked about matching tippets with flies, etc... So I have some questions:

I read somewhere that a general rule of thumb is to divide the size of the fly by 3 to get the size tippet to us. Is that a good rule to go by?

Is there a rule as to what size of fly to use with different weight rods? For example, never use larger than a size 12 fly on a 4 wt? Or maybe a size 14 if it is weighted with a cone or beadhead?

In hindsight I should have rigged up the 6 wt, but being new the thought never crossed my mind about the fly size and the 4 wt. Anyway, I would appreciate any direction on this area. Thanks!
Old 11-20-2008, 11:18 AM
Administrator