The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008, 05:49 PM

txbevo has a spectacular aura abouttxbevo has a spectacular aura about
Default Flourocarbon v. Monofilament

This may be a simple question, but go easy as I am a newbie. Flourocarbon leader and tippet sinks and monofilament leader and tippet floats. Correct? If so, what happens to a dry fly if it is attached to flouro leader and tippet? Do you use flouro with dry flies?
Old 12-01-2008, 05:59 PM
Joni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Flourocarbon v. Monofilament

I use Fluoro with all my flies. It is a thinner diameter for same pound in mono.
It does sink, but I like that with a dry. I don't want my leader casting a shadow on the bottom or even a glint of sunlight. So, the fact fluoro does sink, it rides nicely in the film and I don't notice it pulling my dry down and I DO fish MICRO dries.

But, again, I don't buy tippet as it is way expensive. I buy regular Fluorocarbon (P-Line and Seaguar are the best in my opinion) in 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 lb. A little thicker diameter than Fluoro tippet, but I manage just fine. The 2 fits in the eye of my #32.
Old 12-01-2008, 07:21 PM

OldMan will become famous soon enoughOldMan will become famous soon enough

I do it different. A flouro leader will pull the line under. I use a mono leader and flouro tippet. I don't think the fish will see anything but the tippet and fly.