The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2010, 05:34 PM

misterdrcoolwhip is on a distinguished road
Default hi im new to fly fishing

hello i just bought a a fly rod and reel and i was wondering if anyone could tell me what line or line code i should get im sill trying to figure out the code. any way i would like to start fishing bluegills and other small panfish and then maybe the occasional trout fishing. my rod is a 9' gallatin onyx oxf-9025 weight 5 and my reel is a martin tackle caddis creek cc65 line weight 4-6 i was also trying to figure out what is backing and do i need it and waht else to you recomened i use for this kind of set up any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-05-2010, 05:48 PM

tyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to all
Default Re: hi im new to fly fishing

You want to match the line with the rod. So since it is a 5 weight rod youre going to want to get a 5 weight line for it. I would recommend a weight forward taper....its easier to cast. Since your only looking to fish for panfish you wont need much in the way of special equipment just the basics. Grab yourself some small poppers and go at it!
Old 11-05-2010, 05:52 PM

ooh ok thanks a whole lot that makes a whole lot of sense i will just go do that then thank you.
Old 11-05-2010, 06:40 PM

charged has a spectacular aura aboutcharged has a spectacular aura aboutcharged has a spectacular aura about

The above recommendation would look like this: WF-5-F

WF - is WeightForward, You will also commonly see DT, and L. DT is Double taper, L is level.