The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2010, 08:34 PM

smog7 will become famous soon enough
Default Value priced waders and boots?

I have finally realized that in order to have a better opportunity of catching fish, I need to wade into the water.

So, what do you guys recommend? Take note, I am a poor college student!

Anyone have any expereince with these?

Cabela's: Cabela's 900-Denier Lug Sole Wading Boots

Cabela's: Cabela's 5mm Stockingfoot Waders - Regular

Last edited by smog7; 11-06-2010 at 09:37 PM.
Old 11-06-2010, 09:30 PM

kfisher99 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Value priced waders and boots?

Cool another broke college student fly fisherman! I had waders like that because I had no money but I got really annoyed by the neopreme, I was ALWAYS super hot even when it was raining/snowing/windy. So I decided to dish out the extra 40 bucks or so for some breathable ones.
Old 11-06-2010, 10:17 PM

TeddyBallgame09 is on a distinguished road
Default Discounted Dental Work

Smog,
Many of us have been where you are...and the best question I could ask you is would you take shortcuts when it comes to your own personal dentistry?
There really is not another area of general fly fishing equipment where you truly "get what you pay for" (with the possible exception of rain jackets) than waders and wading boots.

First off...do NOT get bootfoot waders if you value comfort and want to be mobile...they are great for stationary duck hunting...not so much for trout or other cold-water fishing....with the possible exception of some super-rugged environments like AK or Kamchatka...
Which brings up a few questions...
What part of the Country do you most of fish?
What are you targeting?