The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2010, 02:45 PM

foothillstrout is on a distinguished road
Default Cold or Colder

Fished the Davidson River in NC today and figured out that I need some tips. It was 28 degrees out this morning and there had been snow in the area a few days prior so the river was running colder then normal, which was very cold to me. I have said on the board that I am new to Fly Fishing and I plan on fishing through the winter and realized that I need some pointers to keeping myself warm while wading. My chest and body were warm but I had a few issues with my toes and hands.

What do ya'll use to stay warm in the winter? Toe warmers? Wading Socks? Fingerless Wool Gloves? Also is the easiest way to deice your Guides to dip the rod in the water?
Old 11-07-2010, 05:44 PM

cattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to all
Default Re: Cold or Colder

Hey Foothills,
When I think of cold I think of layers, but when waders enter the equation then you're a little more restricted. Wear thermals but stick to those made with either a poly blend or 100% poly. Something like duofold or medalist would be my recommendation. Wear socks of the same material. They will wick away sweat easier and, heres the best reason, if you get wet they will dry much quicker than cotton.
Hope this helps. Its what I use and Ive been happy so far.......
Just my half-nickel......

It's not what I catch when I'm fishing, it's what I lose that matters to me...
----------------------------------------
Good decisions come from experience...Experience comes from bad decisions...