The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2010, 02:40 PM

stripstrike is on a distinguished road
Default 7 Weight for fishing streamers

Hi all,

Been fishing with the Sage XP series for years and Im in need of a new rod for throwing both drys and streamers (sink tips). Going to Chile in January and need a 7 wt. Been looking at getting a Z axis 7100. Any suggestions regarding going with 10 ft over the shorter rod? Definately like the fast action tip flex rods (ie xp series).

Ive been fishing bass tournaments for the past 3 years and havent bought a new fly rod in a long while. Any new input on any other brands that may have a better rod for what im looking to do would also be helpful. Ive just been a big sage fan for years.

Tight lines,

Mike
Old 11-14-2010, 10:31 PM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 7 Weight for fishing streamers

The only reason for a 10 foot rod is increased line control or you are wading deep.