The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2009, 09:16 PM

pl4a is on a distinguished road
Default How to put a fish on the reel?

Just found this site...took less than a hour of lurking to discover the wealth of information and helpfulness of everyone here. I registered and hopefully you can help me with my first post.

I'm a novice fly fisherman and fish almost exclusively trout in CO. ~3 years experience. Never done anything except wading. Streams, tailwaters, and high mountain lakes. Typical fish are 8-14 inches. Rarely larger than that, but I hope one day soon.

(1) Why do you want to put a fish on the reel?

(2) How exactly do you do it? I've heard the term and I'd like to learn the correct technique, but I haven't seen a simple description. Most often I use a dry/dropper setup and have a good amount of line stripped out when I hook a fish. How to I get the fish on the reel w/ the smallest chance of losing what I have hooked?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

-Paul
Old 01-20-2009, 10:01 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to put a fish on the reel?

pl4a-

Welcome to the board, glad you found us. Man, you've got some great fishing out there, and I'm looking forward to your posts.