The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2009, 12:15 AM

nicketheflyfisherman is on a distinguished road
Default Gear advice.

Hello fellow flyfishermen, I just rediscovered fly fishing last summer after a 10 year break from fishing. I am from Sweden, but at the moment I live in Santa Barbara, I am a student. I am about to buy a new fly fishing outfit (my first one really since I use my brothers or dads gear.) I have been looking all over the internet to find a good deal since I don’t have too much money to invest at this point. I am looking for a 5wt or 5/6wt gear.
As I understand it, I should spend more money on the rod and the line than the reel. I have landed on a few different rods and only 1 reel really which I cannot choose from. I was wondering if any of you guys or gals has used any of these and what you think about them.

ROD:
-ROSS REELS ESSENCE FC (seems like a nice rod, have not found much talk about this rod.)
-REDINGTON RED
-TFO PRO (seems like a good choice, people seems to like it)
-SAGE FLi (seems like a good choice, people seems to like it)
-SAGE LAUNCH (seems like a good choice, people seems to like it)
-ORVIS CLEARWATER

REEL:
-ORVIS CLEARWATER III
--------------------------------------------------
Is there any other rods in the price range (roughly) 100-200 dollars that I should take a look at? As far as reel goes I have not found any deal better than the Orvis Clearwater III, 50dollars for the reel, with extra spool 20dollars. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks for taking you time!!
Old 01-21-2009, 12:22 AM

rowdy will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Gear advice.

I always look for "Used" rods in the classifieds. I often find great bargains there.
Old 01-21-2009, 12:49 AM