The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2009, 06:57 PM

dickensheets is on a distinguished road
Default How important is the price of the rod?

Ok I'm a descent fishman. I do trout, bass and carp where I live. I fantasize about the salt but I live in Colorado. I'm an arline pilot so cheap travel means I can someday explore my fantasy.

Question: Will a $400 rod catch more fish than the $90 rods I currently employ. My common sense says no. But with all the advertising hype I feel a little inadequate. I show up to the stream with my blue jeans and Harley hat and catch fish but I'm a little embarrassed by my equip sometimes. I mean I've seen the "Orvis Model" look alike guy catch a tree trout on his first cast, but I do that too on occasion.

I want to wrap my own Scott blank but I have other expesive hobbies (wife, kids, welding) so money is an issue. Should I just go on with my disposable quiver or upgrade and get matching waders and vest.

Ryan
Old 01-28-2009, 07:32 PM

Shane Stroud is a jewel in the roughShane Stroud is a jewel in the roughShane Stroud is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: How important is the price of the rod?

I'll drop my two cents worth. I think the number of fish a person catches, particularly when fly fishing, is heavily based upon technique, experience, knowledge, and such. The right flies at the right time, at the right place, with the right presentation usually wins out.

Knowing the hatches, knowing the streams, and knowing the fish will get you more fish than a fancy rod. I've seen people with probably $2000 in equipment waste an entire day at the river catching nothing but trees while a twelve year old kid pulled them in on almost every cast.