The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2009, 07:25 PM

soxincarolina is on a distinguished road
Default Question on cutting line

I am relatively new to fly-fishing and often think that my reel has far to much line on it. I have an Okuma Cascade Combo and work with the amount of the line that came with it. Would it be out of bounds to cut some of the line off? It just seems bulky and kind of excessive. What is the usual length of line on a 9ft rod?
Old 01-29-2009, 07:55 PM

Jimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant future
Default Re: Question on cutting line

Either my reel, fly line, or some other instructions that I read said that the reel full of line and backing should be approx. 1/8 inch below the top of the spool. For my Okuma Helios that was 140yds/20lb backing, plus 90' of 6 wt fly line. I'm new too so I don't have a lot of confidence offering advice. Let us know what you find out.
Old 01-29-2009, 08:22 PM

arfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud of