The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2010, 12:30 PM

famill00 will become famous soon enough
Default I am new to Flyfishing - Help!!

Hello all,

First let me introduce myself since this is my first post. I am 28 and live in the suburbs of Chicago with my wife and our Italian Greyhound. I have grown up hunting and fishing my whole life, but have never ventured into fly fishing. This all got started when I randomly bought a St. Croix rod on clearance at Cabelas a few months ago. For Christmas, I am getting more gear!

Here is a list of what I have so far (if I have been a good boy this year):
St. Croix Reign 9' 5 weight
Lamson Konic 2
Standard Cabelas Backing
5 weight WF F Scientific Angler GPX Line
Cabelas Waders/Boots (Breathable, got great reviews)
William Joseph Chest Pack

I also bought a Renzetti Traveler vise because I want to learn to tie flies this Winter. That has always been a venture I wanted to do since crappie fishing with jigs back in Kentucky.

I have been doing alot of studying and trying to buy the right things for a beginner. I don't feel like I need to spend thousands, but I do want to buy quality the first time.

Am I on the right track? What else do you suggest I get?

---------- Post added at 12:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:26 PM ----------

I forgot to add that I also bought a set of Dr. Slick tools for fly tying...
Old 12-01-2010, 12:58 PM

arkman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: I am new to Flyfishing - Help!!

Looks like you got a good start. What is your intended target fish? That would help people get a better idea of stuff you might want to get.