The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2009, 07:13 PM

Wanderingbutnotlost is on a distinguished road
Default Best Inexpensive (<$150)Rod? Link request

Hey Guys and Gals -

Complete newbie here.

This is my first post - forgive my impertinence - but rather than slowly scrolling through many pages of forum posts and trying to guess about thread titles, I was hoping someone could post a link to a thread regarding the best inexpensive rod. Something less than $150.

Or if you don't mind, just quickly post your opinion.

Incidentally, I plan to be casting from my kayak in SE Florida - Fort Myers / Cape Coral area - both salt and fresh water.

Even more incidentally, I prefer to buy American if that's possible anymore... .

Thanks in advance!
Old 03-06-2009, 08:27 PM

KRD will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Best Inexpensive (<$150)Rod? Link request

Not gonna get american for $150 unless you go used and it is a older rod.

i would check out st. croix. Maybe a local fly shop can find you a good used rod.
Old 03-06-2009, 09:27 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute

Hey, welcome to the board. As krd mentioned, it'll be tough to find an American made rod for 150.