The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2009, 06:14 AM

Wanderingbutnotlost is on a distinguished road
kayak fishing tips please

Hey There!

Since I'm a teacher and the summer is rapidly approaching, I plan to spend as much time as possible outside - ideally in my kayak fishing (South West Florida, both salt (ocean and swampy) and fresh water).

In your opinion, what would you say are essential gear items I must have? Furthermore, what items are just nice to have?

As I have minimal gear now, no item should be too small to mention. Often it's the small things that are the most important.

Thanks!
Old 03-08-2009, 06:44 AM

jimw has a spectacular aura aboutjimw has a spectacular aura aboutjimw has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: kayak fishing tips please

I kayak fish alot and here is a list of what i bring
1-sash wieght for anchor with a retractable dog leash for line
2-pfd
3-I use an orvis sling pack easy access and stores out of the way
4-boca grip instead of a net
5-water proof first aid kit
6-cell in water proof container
7-water bottles
8-snacks in the sling pack
9-multi tool
10-sun block/bug repelant
11-fly rod and gear
12-stored in hatches-rain gear
13-paddle teathered to yak
Old 03-08-2009, 07:41 AM

cargo747 is on a distinguished road

Hand held GPS units are a nice thing to have. If you plan on doing any fishing after dark you need to invest in some lights. I use a head lamp and a clamp on bow light if I'm out after dark. Gear you don't want to get wet put in a good water proof bag or container. Be careful Florida Kayak Fishing is addictive.
Old 03-08-2009, 12:11 PM

dshort has a spectacular aura aboutdshort has a spectacular aura aboutdshort has a spectacular aura about

My list includes: