The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2009, 06:01 PM

sonicimpulse is on a distinguished road
Default Adding weight to your nymph

I'm very new to fly fishing. I bout a 5wt St Croix rod and a Ross Fly Start #3 real last year but did not use it that much. Steal Head season is here and I would really like to get out soon. My question is how would I add weight to a nymph? Do I use a split show and if so do I put it right about the fly? Any guidance on setting this up would be great.

Kenny
Old 03-18-2009, 06:31 PM

pc40chas is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Adding weight to your nymph

i like to tie on my split shots so the dont move. ive been doing that ever since i started fly fishing. it will crimp your line but ive never lost a fish because of that knot. just say your throwing a nymph or an egg under an indicator, i start between 8 and 12 inches above the fly and if you want more weight seperate the next one about 4 inches higher. if you want more weight, now you can just crimp one on to each shot thats already tied on. the knot is just a simple overhand knot. you say that you have a 5wt, thats a bit light for steelhead. im sure it can be done, but you should be in the range of an 8wt. where are you fishing?
Old 03-18-2009, 07:26 PM

North Ohio. Chagrin, Cuyahoga, Grand, and Rocky Rivers usually 1/2 mile from lake Erie.

Why would a 5wt be to small for Steal Head?
Old 03-18-2009, 08:30 PM

pc40chas is on a distinguished road