The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2010, 07:26 PM

famill00 will become famous soon enough
Default How to connect line to leader?

I am new to fly fishing and have been looking at how to connect line to leader. Today I bought the Cortland kit where you use a piece of heat shrink tubing to connect a loop to the end of the line, where you can then change leaders easier. Is this a good system?
Old 12-22-2010, 07:41 PM

FrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to connect line to leader?

I had one of those connectors that came with a Cortland line, and it makes adding a loop to the end of your line infuriating.... It's much easier (and better) to add a 10-12 inch length of .021" mono to the end of your fly line using a nail knot. After that simple procedure, add a perfection loop to the end of the mono section to make loop-to-loop connections with your leader. It's best to leave a bit extra length until you've made a good nail knot. Don't make the perfection loop too large: 3/8"-1/2" is plenty. A needle nail knot or Zap-a-Gap connection both make an even more smooth connection bwtween the mono and fly line, but the nail knot will get you started. Most people will suggest you seal the end of the fly line with a CA type adhesive, and that will help prevent water from migrating up through the line's core.