The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2009, 07:02 PM

BPW is on a distinguished road
Default New to the world of fly fishing

Greetings all,

Being new to fly fishing, and very anxious to get out, I was wondering what are some basic flies and poppers for bass and blue gills.

Thanks in advance for your help!

BPW
Old 03-25-2009, 07:15 PM
MikeyBob365 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: New to the world of fly fishing

hey welcome! i'm also fairly new to the world, but i'm going to tell ya what everyone else is going to tell ya, wooly buggars and poppers! you want bright colors for the poppers! yellow red black (so long to the) orange and white ( WHOOOP! GIG' EM!) wooly buggars i usually use black with green/red/white chenille, or full red, white or green.

i hope you catch more fish than i did my first time out! (only one is neccessary)
Michael
Old 03-25-2009, 07:55 PM

ezamora is a jewel in the roughezamora is a jewel in the roughezamora is a jewel in the rough

here's a site i ran across a week or so ago....

BreamBugs.com

eric
fresno, ca.
Old 03-26-2009, 02:47 PM

rmooney is just really nicermooney is just really nicermooney is just really nicermooney is just really nice

these are my two favorite flies for bluegills and crappie. check em out!

http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/fo...lies-7449.html

http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/fo...ider-7448.html
Old 03-26-2009, 08:56 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator