The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2006, 08:04 AM

Outdoorarki will become famous soon enoughOutdoorarki will become famous soon enough
Question Newbie needs help

I am new to this so bear with me. How do you connect your fly line to your backing so it will not hang in the guides? I tried to post this in the line fourm but it said I was banned. This is my first post.
Old 02-04-2006, 10:40 AM

JBinUTAH will become famous soon enoughJBinUTAH will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Newbie needs help

Check out the albright knot on the link below. If tied cleanly, you shouldn't have any problems. There are some other knots too. The nail knot may be better. I rarely get to my backing so I don't have the issue but that link is great. Save it to favorites.

http://www.animatedknots.com/indexfi...e=LogoGrog.jpg
Old 02-04-2006, 11:26 AM
Administrator

Fish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura aboutFish Bones has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to Fish Bones

The Albright is a good knot. I use the Uni-Knot. Its quick, simple and doesn't get hung up on the guides. See the image bellow.
Attached Images
File Type: gif Uni Knot.gif (15.4 KB, 47 views)

Old 02-04-2006, 08:14 PM

Outdoorarki will become famous soon enoughOutdoorarki will become famous soon enough
Re: Newbie needs help

Thanks guys. That helps alot. Don't know if I will will ever get to the backing,but want to be sure it doesn't hang and break the big one off.
Old 02-05-2006, 12:07 AM
Curtis will become famous soon enoughCurtis will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to Curtis

Quote:
Originally Posted by Outdoorarki